The Kosciuszko Huts Association (KHA) is a voluntary association formed in 1971 to assist with the conservation, management and reconstruction of huts, homesteads and surrounds within Kosciuszko National Park (KNP) in southern NSW. Our activities expanded into Namadgi National Park (NNP) in the ACT in 1990.

Over the past forty two years KHA has carried out maintenance activities on most of the 90 or so remaining huts and homesteads in KNP and NPP. A network of caretakers, both groups and individuals, make annual inspection visits to their allocated hut or huts to document the material state of the hut and to develop work plans. They also undertake small repairs as needed.

The caretaker network is managed by KHA, with KHA providing the liaison between the caretakers and state and territory land management agencies.

The objectives of KHA

  • To protect and enhance the cultural heritage values contained within the high country of NSW and the ACT, through
  • Conserving historic huts and associated structures,
  • Providing input into government planning processes,
  • Creating heritage awareness amongst the general public,
  • Undertaking historical research and making it available to the public, Australia Museum, National Library and public organisations.

The NSW Government requires KHA volunteers working in the park, to indemnify it against any third party legal action resulting from KHA's activities. KHA has obtained insurance cover for the benefit of members and pays for it though membership fees.

Financial KHA members are welcome to attend hut work parties. For upcoming workparties, please check the calendar (you need to be logged in to see it) or contact the relevant Hut Maintenance Officer (HMO). 

Constitution of the Kosciuszko Huts Association

From this....

To this!

Inaugural KHA Committee 1972, photo Reet Vallak Collection
kha inaugural committee 1972 800
Presidents Life Members

Robin Miller 1971-73

Robert Storey 1973-76

Reet Vallak 1976-78

Pieter Arriens 1978-80

Klaus Hueneke 1980-81

Lee Martin 1981-82

John Marsh 1982-84

Mike Hinchey 1984-86

Bren Milsom 1986-87

Graham Scully 1987-92

John Hamilton 1992-93

Dean Turner 1992-94

Maurice Sexton 1994-96

David Eddy 1996-98

Pauline Downing 1998 to 2001

Maurice Sexton OAM 2001 to 2003

Mark Cleghorn 2003 to Jan 2007

Ian Frakes (Acting President) Jan 2007 to May 2007

Bob Moon 2007 to 2009

Carl Bazeley 2009 to 2010

Bob Moon 2010 to 2012

Barbara Seymour 2012 to 2015

Bob Moon 2015 to 2017

Bob Salijevic May 2017 to Oct 2017

Clive Richardson (Acting President) Oct 2017 to May 2020

Simon Buckpitt May 2020


Pieter Arriens

Charles Warner

Paddy Pallin 1981

Ted Winter 1981

Bob and Sybil Story 1988

Reet Vallak 1988

Klaus Hueneke AM 1992

Harry Hill 1997

Deidre Shaw 1999

Jack Palmer 1999

Alan Bunsell 2000

Maurice Sexton AM 2000

Graham Scully 2000

Pauline Downing 2002

Barbara Seymour 2004

Jerry Gregg 2004

Noel Gough 2005

Jane Wheaton 2007

Bob Moon 2012

Ian Frakes 2012

Clive Richardson 2014

Pat & Sue Edmondson 2014

David Mitchell 2016

Pip Brown 2016

Narelle Irvine 2016