Glennie was a Scotsman who enjoyed the cool mountain weather, and resided in the hut for 45 years whilst working ground sluicing claims in the Four Mile Valley. He made a reasonable return and moved into Kiandra upon his retirement c1910. The hut became a ruin during the 1920s-30s.
by Graham Scully; KHA Heritage Officer
There are essentially two ways into the Collins Creek Gold Diggings; either from the National Park campsite on the Gungarlin River near Diggers Creek or from the Snowy Plains Fire Trail as described in the entry for Kidmans Hut.
Kidman’s Hut was constructed in March 1932 by Alec and Ken Kidman, and Bill Napthali as a shelter for stockmen working the Kidman’s snowlease. The Kidmans grazed stock here during the summer months from the early 1900s until 1945, with the Miners family taking over the lease until 1958 — when all grazing above 1370m was terminated.
Established by Alfred Luttrell in 1889, the claim comprises two distinct areas of ground sluicing activity covering an area ~200 x 50m x 5-6m deep running along the contour. The northern sluice area and its tailrace remain reasonably intact albeit overgrown, the southern sluice area has been reworked, levelled and grassed during sand mining and soil conservation works c1960.
See also Paddy Kerrigan's letter with his memories of the area.
Information supplied by the Bright Historical Society
The dredges shut down at midnight-on Saturday and resumed 24 hours later. Success depended upon the experience and ability of the winchman, who needed a comprehensive knowledge of alluvial mining; his job was to determine how much bottom to lift and to treat the wash. Additional men were required to attend to water races, tailings, fire wood, and the like, and box boys. employed to clear surplus stones from the sluice boxes, were paid thirty shillings a week.
THE HISTORY OF BROKEN DAM HUT